Sunday, April 28, 2013


UFC 159 didn't turn out how most expected it to. A lot of strange things happened but the main event was not one of them. Jon Jones defended his Light-Heavyweight title defeating Chael Sonnen via TKO at 4:33 in the first round. Middleweight Michael Bisping won a technical decision over Alan Belcher after an accidental eye poke. Heavyweight Roy "Big Country" Nelson delivered a huge KO at 2:03 of round one to defeat Cheick Kongo. Light-Heavyweight Phil Davis won an easy decision over Vinny Magalhaes. In what was the best fight of the night, Lightweight Pat Healy defeated Jim Miller at 4:02 of round three via RNC.

Flyweight champion Demetrious Johnson is scheduled to defend his belt against John Moraga at UFC on FOX 8 which takes place in Seattle Washington on July 27th. Also added to the card is Women's Bantamweight Miesha Tate who will take on Liz Carmouche.

Bellator FC's Summer Series will kick off on June 19th in Oklahoma. It will feature the semi-finals of the Light-Heavyweight tournament. "King Mo Lawal will be one of the four men competing. The others have yet to be announced.

ONE FC 9 added two Flyweight bouts to their May 31st card. Former UFC fighter Yasuhiro Urushitani will take on Rey Docyogen and Geje Eustaquio will take on Andrew Leone. The card is headlined by a Featherweight title fight between Honorio Banario and Koji Oishi.

Sunday, April 21, 2013


Xtreme Fighting Championships made it's way to Louisville this past Friday, where it held XFC 23. The main event featured two experienced Welterweights. Former UFC fighter Shamar Bailey took on former Bellator fighter Luis "Sapo" Santos. Santos, a veteran of 64 fights, made quick work of Bailey defeating him via TKO at 1:02 in the very first round. Other notable winners at XFC 23 were Featherweight Zach Underwood and Straw-weight Stephanie Eggink.

UFC on FOX 7 went down as one of the better UFC cards of 2013 thus far. Unofficially called "UFC vs Strikeforce", the two promotions (Strikeforce of which no longer exists) split the fights 2 to 2 on the main card. In the Welterweight division, Matt Brown defeated Jordan Mein via TKO at 1:00 of round two. Lightweight Josh Thomson became the first person to stop Nate Diaz. Thomson won via TKO at 3:44 of round two. In the Heavyweight division Daniel Cormier won a unanimous decision over Frank Mir. In the main event of the evening, Lightweight champion Benson Henderson won a split decision victory over Gilbert Melendez to defend his title.

It was announced that Shinya Aoki, The ONE FC Lightweight champion, will compete against Kron Gracie at Metamoris 2. The jiu-jitsu competition will take place on June 9.

The Legacy FC 21 fight card is set with two title fights taking place. William Bush will fight Larry Crowe for the vacant Middleweight title and Matt Hobar will fight Angel Huerta for the vacant Bantamweight title. Former UFC fighter Matt Riddle will also make his Legacy FC debut on that fight card.

Jon Jones and Nike released shoes and shirts that went on sale this past Friday.

Bellator Fighting Championship announced the signing of veteran fighter Vladimir Matyushenko.

Sunday, April 14, 2013


AXS TV has been known to televise some pretty awesome fight cards. Legacy Fighting Championship 19 was just another one of them. Flyweight champion and former UFC fighter Will Campuzano successfully defended his belt against Allan Nascimento, winning by unanimous decision. Featherweight Georgi Karakhanyan defeated another former UFC fighter, Din Thomas, by unanimous decision as well. Light Heavyweight Robert Drysdale kept his hot streak going with another first round submission win. This time it was over D.J Linderman via RNC at 1:48.

At Cage Warriors 53 Jim Alers won the Featherweight title, defeating Joni Salovaara via armbar at 3:43 in round four. Alers won the title which was vacated by now UFC fighter Conor McGregor.

Season 17 of The Ultimate Fighter came to an end this past weekend, and what a way to send it off! Bantamweight Urijah Faber defeated Scott Jorgensen via RNC at 3:16 in the fourth round. Middleweight Kelvin Gastelum pulled off a huge upset defeating Uriah Hall to win TUF 17 via split decision. Women's Bantamweights Cat Zingano and Miesha Tate stole the show putting on a back and forth fight. The winner would coach opposite of Ronda Rousey on season 18 of TUF. Zingano won via TKO at 2:55 in the third round.

Invicta Fighting Championship announced that Marloes Coenen and Cristiane "Cyborg" Santos will fight for a title rematch at Invicta FC 6.

Heavyweight Matt Mitrione, fresh off his KO victory of Philip De Fries, has been suspended by the UFC after his rude comments towards transgender fighter Fallon Fox.

Former MFC Middleweight champion Elvis Mutapcic has signed with World Series of Fighting.

ONE FC 9 has been scheduled to take place on May 31.

Bellator announced that their summer series will be four man tournaments rather then their usual eight.

Sunday, April 7, 2013


I know everyone dearly missed the weekly review this past weekend because of Easter Sunday but it's back!

Bellator 95 wrapped up the season 8 tournaments. The biggest win of the night belonged to champ Pat Curran, who defended his Featherweight belt against Russian fighter Shahbulat Shamhalaev. He defeated Shamhalaev via guillotine choke at 2:38 in the first round. "Frodo" Khasbulaev beat out Mike Richman for this seasons Featherweight tournament championship by winning a unanimous decision. Doug Marshall won via flashy KO at 3:39 in the first round over Brett Cooper. Marshall claimed this seasons Middleweight tournament championship. In other action, welterweight Rick Hawn defeated former UFC fighter Karo Parisyan via KO at 1:55 in the second round.

Invicta FC, the MMA organization for women only, held it's fifth event which hosted two title fights. Michelle Waterson pulled off a huge upset to win the Atomweight title over Jessica Penne. Waterson won via armbar at 2:31 in the forth round. Barb Honchak claimed a unanimous decision victory over Vanessa Porto to win the Flyweight belt.

At ONE FC 8, Shinya Aoki did what he does best and won via RNC at 2:01 in round one over Kotetsu Boku. With this win Aoki claims the lightweight title. Middleweight Brock Larson won a unanimous decision over Melvin Manhoef. Masakatsu Ueda and Kevin Belingon both advance to face each other for the Bantamweight tournament championship.

UFC on FUEL TV 9 seemed like it was going to be a disaster with Alexander Gustafsson having to drop out of the fight. Though the main event wasn't what it probably would have been if Gustafsson was fighting, the rest of the card made it worth while. Brad Pickett defeated Mike Easton in a Bantamweight fight that was definitely worthy of Fight of the Night. Heavyweight Matt Mitrione KO'd Philip De Fries in just 19 seconds. Ross Pearson spoiled fellow Lightweight Ryan Couture's UFC debut with a TKO at 3:45 of round two. In the main event Gegard Mousasi destroyed Ilir Latifi via unanimous decision.