Sunday, June 26, 2016


Bellator held its second ever DYNAMITE event this past weekend, and while - like the first - it featured both MMA and kickboxing, we shall focus exclusively on the MMA.

Former UFC Heavyweight Matt Mitrione survived a near KO to comeback and defeat Carl Seumanutafa by KO at 3:22 of round 1. In a Women's Flyweight contest, Ilima MacFarlane submitted Rebecca Ruth in round 2 via standing rear naked choke. The stoppage came at exactly 3:00. Michael Chandler reclaimed his Lightweight belt from Patricky "Pitbull" Freire when he knocked him out at 2:14 of the very first round. In the main event Light Heavyweight turned Heavyweight, Quinton "Rampage" Jackson defeated Satoshi Iishi by way of narrow split decision.

At Legacy FC 56, surging Bantamweight Jason Sampson dominated Ryan Hollis for three rounds, leading to a unanimous decision victory. In the main event, long time Legacy FC competitor Steven Peterson claimed the Bantamweight strap with a rear naked choke against Manny Vazquez at 3:08 of round 4.

Two titles were on the line at Victory FC 51. But before that, WSOF veteran Rick Glenn won a narrow split decision over fellow Featherweight Ramiro Hernandez. Mike Rhodes won the vacant Middleweight belt over Rakim Cleveland with a guillotine choke that came at 2:42 of round 2. And Robert Emerson won the vacant Bantamweight belt when he sunk in a rear naked choke on Shawn West at 1:30 of round 2.

ONE Championship 44 is scheduled for July 2 and will feature a headliner between former Featherweight champion Narantungalag Jadambaa and Eric Kelly.

Invicta FC 18 will see undefeated Alexa Grasso fight Jodie Esquibel in the main event. Also on the card is Megan Anderson, Peggy Morgan and Jessamyn Duke.

Monday, June 13, 2016


Only a few more weeks away from UFC 200. But don't forget, there are plenty of action packed fight cards from around the world before then.

At CES MMA 36 Featherweight Levan Makashvili got back on track after a two fight win-less skid against Ryan Sanders. Makashvili won by unanimous decision. Featherweight Matt Bessette defeated last minute replacement Ran Weathers via guillotine at 4:50 of round 1. Finally, Lightweight Nate "The Snake" Andrews took out Luis Muro by way of rear naked choke at 1:59 of round 3.

Titan FC 39 saw Dhiego Lima defeat David Michaud to win the vacant Welterweight belt by unanimous decision. Andre Harrison remained undefeated and defended his Featherweight title in the process. Harrison did so when his opponent, XFC star Deivison Francisco Ribeiro, broke his leg in round 3. In the main event Gesias Cavalcante claimed the vacant Lightweight belt with a KO of Pat Healy at 2:07 of round 1.

Former UFC Heavyweight champion Brock Lesnar - under much controversy - will return to the promotion for UFC 200 and will take on Mark Hunt. The bout will serve as the co-main event.

UFC, Bellator and Elite XC veteran Kevin "Kimbo Slice" Ferguson died at age 42.

Former Bellator Welterweight champion Douglas Lima will replace Josh Koscheck against Paul "Semex" Daley at Bellator 158.

Sunday, June 5, 2016


At RFA 38, Lightweight Christos Giagos snapped a two fight skid with a devastating KO of Karen Darabedyan at 1:42 of round 1. In the Bantamweight division, Vinicius Zani won a unanimous decision against Joe Murphy. Capping off the night, Thiago Moises retained his Light Heavyweight title by TKOing Jamall Emmers at 2:52 of round 5.

Cage Warriors 76 was filled with finishes from fight one to the main event. Featherweight Nad Narimani choked out Daniel Requeijo with a guillotine at 1:21 of round 3. Andreas Stahl defeated fellow Welterweight Lewis Long via TKO at :31 of round 3. And in the main event Middleweight Jack Marshman kept his win streak alive with a victory against Ali Arish. Marshman won by way of guillotine at 3:25 of round 1.

With many fight fans looking forward to UFC 200, many forgot just how great of a card UFC 199 was. They were reminded on Saturday. Kicking off the pay-per-view, Lightweight Dustin Poirier took out Bobby Green with a KO that came at 2:53 of round 1. Light Heavyweight legend Dan Henderson won after a lackluster first round against Hector Lombard. His comeback was completed with nasty elbows that led to a KO at 1:27 of round 2. Featherweight Max Holloway won his ninth straight fight by defeating former title challenger Ricardo Lamas by unanimous decision. Dominick Cruz successfully defended his Bantamweight belt with a unanimous decision over Urijah Faber. The loss marked Faber's fourth when fighting for a belt in the UFC. The main event saw twenty-six fight veteran Michael "The Count" Bisping claim the Middleweight title with a KO of now former champion Luke Rockhold. The finish came at 3:36 of round 1.

A Bantamweight contest between Darrion Caldwell and Joe Taimanglo will headline Bellator 159.

The UFC announced during UFC 199 (though Ariel Helwani beat them to it in a way) that former Heavyweight champion Brock Lesnar will fight on the UFC 200 fight card. His opponent has yet to be named.

UFC 202 will be headlined by a Welterweight rematch between Nate Diaz and Conor McGregor.