Sunday, June 5, 2016


At RFA 38, Lightweight Christos Giagos snapped a two fight skid with a devastating KO of Karen Darabedyan at 1:42 of round 1. In the Bantamweight division, Vinicius Zani won a unanimous decision against Joe Murphy. Capping off the night, Thiago Moises retained his Light Heavyweight title by TKOing Jamall Emmers at 2:52 of round 5.

Cage Warriors 76 was filled with finishes from fight one to the main event. Featherweight Nad Narimani choked out Daniel Requeijo with a guillotine at 1:21 of round 3. Andreas Stahl defeated fellow Welterweight Lewis Long via TKO at :31 of round 3. And in the main event Middleweight Jack Marshman kept his win streak alive with a victory against Ali Arish. Marshman won by way of guillotine at 3:25 of round 1.

With many fight fans looking forward to UFC 200, many forgot just how great of a card UFC 199 was. They were reminded on Saturday. Kicking off the pay-per-view, Lightweight Dustin Poirier took out Bobby Green with a KO that came at 2:53 of round 1. Light Heavyweight legend Dan Henderson won after a lackluster first round against Hector Lombard. His comeback was completed with nasty elbows that led to a KO at 1:27 of round 2. Featherweight Max Holloway won his ninth straight fight by defeating former title challenger Ricardo Lamas by unanimous decision. Dominick Cruz successfully defended his Bantamweight belt with a unanimous decision over Urijah Faber. The loss marked Faber's fourth when fighting for a belt in the UFC. The main event saw twenty-six fight veteran Michael "The Count" Bisping claim the Middleweight title with a KO of now former champion Luke Rockhold. The finish came at 3:36 of round 1.

A Bantamweight contest between Darrion Caldwell and Joe Taimanglo will headline Bellator 159.

The UFC announced during UFC 199 (though Ariel Helwani beat them to it in a way) that former Heavyweight champion Brock Lesnar will fight on the UFC 200 fight card. His opponent has yet to be named.

UFC 202 will be headlined by a Welterweight rematch between Nate Diaz and Conor McGregor.


No comments:

Post a Comment