Sunday, March 16, 2014


It's always awesome when you get to start off a weekend of great MMA action on a Friday morning. ONE FC 14 allowed us to do just that. The event took place in Malaysia and saw rear naked choke wins from Flyweight Adriano Moraes as well as Bantamweight Dae Hwan Kim. In the main event Nobutatsu Suzuki won the inaugural Welterweight title by unanimous decision over Brock Larson.

Bellator 112 hosted the opening round of their Welterweight tournament. The event also played host to a very exciting Featherweight title fight. Daniel Straus and Pat Curran finished off their trilogy, and for the second time it was for the Featherweight belt.  Straus was defending his belt for the first time but failed to do so because of a late rear naked choke pulled off by Curran. The submission came at 4:46 of round 5.

At UFC 171 Lightweight Myles Jury outworked Diego Sanchez to earn a unanimous decision win. Welterweight Carlos Condit suffered a gruesome knee injury following a kick landed by his opponent Tyron Woodley. The fight was ruled a TKO at 2:00 of round 2 for Woodley. The main event saw the Welterweight belt on the line and for the first time in what seems like forever, GSP wasn't defending it. Johny Hendricks won a close unanimous decision over Robbie Lawler to become the new Welterweight champion.

Quinton "Rampage" Jackson and Muhammed "King Mo" Lawal will fight for the season 10 Light Heavyweight tournament final on the Bellator pay-per-view fight card.

Bibiano Fernandes will defend his Bantamweight belt against Masakatsu Ueda at ONE FC 15 on May 2.

No comments:

Post a Comment