Sunday, August 31, 2014


A wacky weekend of MMA was started off with ONE FC 19. Three title fights were on the line, first of which was the Featherweight belt. Jadamba Narantungalag took the belt by winning a unanimous decision over Koji Oishi. Ben Askren took home the Welterweight belt by pounding out Nobutatsu Suzuki by TKO at just 1:24 of round 1. The main event saw fan favorite Shinya Aoki win the Lightweight title. Aoki won in usual fashion, submitting Kamal Shalorus by rear naked choke at 2:15 of round 1.

Legacy FC 34 was up next. Bantamweight Austin Lyons continuously outworked Jonathan Brookins on the feet which lead to a unanimous decision. The main event saw Flyweight Brian Hall come back from being rocked to defeat Pedro Souza via unanimous decision. Hall's win snapped Souza's undefeated (13-0) record.

UFC 177 was scheduled to feature a rematch between former Bantamweight champion Renan Barao and the man who took the belt from him, T.J. Dillashaw. Unfortunately, a day before the fight, Renan Barao suffered an injury cutting weight. The injury forced Barao out of his rematch and saw Joe Soto step up to fight for the title. Soto proved a tough opponent but could not best the champion. Dillashaw, who was constantly out striking his opponent, landed a head kick late in the fight sending Soto plummeting to the canvas. The fight was stopped after unblocked ground strikes followed. Dillashaw retained his belt via KO at 2:20 of round 5.

Bellator announced the release of 13 total fighters including Shahbulat Shamhalaev, Attila Vegh and Bryan Baker.

Former UFC Light Heavyweight Stephan Bonnar has signed with Bellator to fight. Bonnar has recently been commentating for Titan FC.

No comments:

Post a Comment